Site Home > news home
PIERRE – South Dakota’s Game, Fish and Parks Commission recently proposed the state’s West River deer and fall turkey seasons for 2001. The West River deer season would be open Nov. 10-25, except in Gregory and Mellette counties. These counties would have a split season from Nov. 3-6, and Nov. 19-25, and another season Nov. 10-25. The department would offer 10,825 one-tag licenses and 10,600 two-tag licenses. An additional eight percent would be available for nonresidents. One significant change from last year would divide Unit 311B, southern Bennett County into two units (311B and 311C) separated by the Tuthill-Eli, NE Road. Another West River deer season change from last year would include that special buck deer licenses are not valid on private land leased by the department for public hunting (Walk-In Areas). Shooting hours would be one-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset. The state’s fall turkey season was proposed for Oct. 1 through Dec. 31 for prairie units, and Oct. 13 through Oct 21 for the Black Hills unit. Unlimited resident and nonresident one-tag licenses would be available for the Black Hills. Prairie licenses would number 4,320, with an additional eight percent for nonresidents, except for units east of the Missouri River. Perkins County’s (Unit 153A) license type would change from a one-tag to a two-tag. Other changes from last year would include: Establish Units 119A (Clay County) and 140A (Jerauld County). Establish Unit 144A (Lincoln County), with season dates of Oct. 1 through Nov. 15, and Unit 144B (Lincoln County), with season dates of Nov. 16 through Dec. 31. Shooting hours would be one-half hour before sunrise to sunset. To submit comment, individuals can attend the public hearings at 2 p.m., Thursday, June 7, at Dakota Bank in Lemmon. Send written comments to Game, Fish and Parks, 523 E. Capitol, Pierre, S.D. 57501, or send e-mail to Comments must include full name and address.

Uploaded: 5/12/2001